Area players named Scholar-Athletes

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — A handful of area Frontier Conference basketball players have been named Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes.

In order to be nominated for the honor by an institution’s head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status.

In all, 75 men and 128 women received the prestigious honor, the NAIA announced today. That list includes five Montana Tech players.

Senior Mitch Buerkle and junior Brandon Rydberg were honored from the Oredigger men’s team. Junior Mandy Machinal and seniors Bryn Hasquet and Kelsey DeWit were named Scholar-Athletes from the Tech women’s team.

From Montana Western’s women’s teams, senior Sammi Bignell took home the honor along with junior teammates McCall Hasquet and Jenna Banks.

Senior Tyler Miller was honored from the Montana Western men’s team. So was junior Nicholas Williams fro Carroll College.

Click the links below to see all the NAIA Scholar-Athletes.

Men Scholar-Athletes

Women Scholar-Athletes