4 Cats lauded by National Football Foundation

BOZEMAN — Four Montana State University football players, each natives of the Treasure State, were named to the National Football Foundation’s Hampshire Honor Society on Thursday. The NFF honored 703 seniors from across all divisions of college football for academic achievement.

Bobcat receivers Kruiz Siewing (Saco) and Chase Young (Augusta) joined tight end and holder Rick Haluszka (Harlem) and defensive end Caleb Schreibeis (Billings) in the honor. To qualify, a player must have completed his eligibility with a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 or better (out of 4.0) as a starter or important reserve.

Siewing played in nine games while battling injury throughout the season, but was sixth on the team with 18 receptions and 214 receiving yards. He caught a touchdown pass in MSU’s win at Montana. Chase Young played in all 13 games as one of the team’s top special teams players, and caught his first two career passes this season. Haluszka has played as MSU’s holder for place-kicks for the past three seasons. Schreibeis won the 2012 Buck Buchanan Award as the FCS’ top defensive player.

Montana State’s four selections to the Hampshire Society was matched only by North Dakota among Big Sky Conference schools. In fact, the rest of the conference combined for only six selections.

— MSU Sports Information