1982 Tech volleyball team also headed to Hall

1982 Tech volleyball team also headed to Hall

The 1982 Montana Tech volleyball team will be inducted into the Oredigger Hall of Fame in September.

The team was inadvertently omitted from a release sent by the school on Thursday. Joining the 1982 Orediggers in the Sept. 18-19 Hall of Fame weekend will be the 1988 Tech volleyball team, the 1997-98 men’s basketball team and the 1998-99 men’s basketball team.

Individuals being inducted are Wade Bristol and Don “Hawk” Hawkinson.

Led by Head Coach Linda Schoenstedt, the 1982 Orediggers finished 8-1 in Frontier Conference play and 26-12 overall, repeating as Frontier Conference Champions. They went on to win the NAIA District 12 Championship defeating Black Hills State twice and the University of Sioux Falls before falling to Nebraska-Kearney in a playoff game for a birth to the NAIA National Tournament.

The 1982 team had three first-team all-conference selections in Mary Theis, along with Julie and Kristi Hoklin, and one second-team selection in Michelle Smith. Coach Schoenstedt was selected as Frontier Conference Co-Coach of the Year.

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Archived Radio Broadcasts

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email