Tech’s Sean Benson named first-team All-Conference

Tech’s Sean Benson named first-team All-Conference
Montana Tech sophomore Sean Benson reacts after sinking a long par putt on hole No. 3 during the Oredigger Invitational at the Butte Country Club in this September 2016 Butte Sports photo.

The All-Frontier Conference golf teams were released Thursday, and Montana Tech saw three players receive an honor.

Sophomore Sean Benson, who placed fourth in the Frontier Conference Championships Wednesday in Tempe, Arizona, led the way. The Billings Senior product was named to the men’s first team.

The 2016-17 season saw Benson win the Montana Tech Invitational last fall at the Butte Country Club. He led the Orediggers to a second-place showing at the conference tournament.

Lewis-Clark State’s Chris Lien was named Player of the Year. His teammate, Shaun Harpin, was named Freshman of the Year, and LCSC coach Drew Reinland took home the Coach of the Year award.

Montana Tech junior David Starcevich, a Butte High graduate, was named a Champion of Character. Oredigger junior Taryn Campbell received the same honor on the women’s side.

The University of Great Falls’ Gina Kowalchuk, who ran away with the Frontier title, was named Player of the Year for the second straight season. Hayden Flohr of Rocky Mountain College was named Freshman of the Year, while Rocky’s Aaron Pohle was named the top women’s coach.

First Team

Sean Benson, So., Montana Tech
Brandon Barnes, Jr., Lewis-Clark State
Austin Egan, Jr., Carroll College
Chirs Lien, Sr., Lewis-Clark State
Colton Murphy, So., Rocky Mountain

Second Team
Hunter Anderson, Sr., Rocky
Ben Gardner, Fr., Carroll College
Shaun Harpin, Fr., Lewis-Clark State
Ho Tae Kim, So., Rocky Mountain
Hunter Weitze, So., Lewis-Clark State

Champions of Character
Rober Anderson, Sr., Rocky Mountain
Paul Brannan III, Jr., University of Great Falls
Devin Bray, So., MSU-Northern
Justin Galiher, Sr., Carroll College
Chris Lien, Sr., Lewis-Clark State
David Starcevich, Jr., Montana Tech

First Team

Eryn Ellis, So., Rocky Mountain
Nellie Enderby, So., Rocky Mountain
Hayden Flohr, Fr., Rocky Mountain
Gina Kowalchuk, Jr., Great Falls
Marissa Louder, So. Lewis-Clark State

Second Team
Blake Greenup, Jr., Lewis-Clark State
Allison Kadinger, Jr., Lewis-Clark State
Kayla Monroe, Jr. Lewis-Clark State
Morgan O’Neil, Fr., Rocky Mountain
Cailin Spencer, Fr., Carroll College

Champions of Character
Katherin Buschhorn, Jr., Great Falls
Taryn Campbell, Jr., Montana Tech
Hayden Flohr, Fr., Rocky Mountain
Katie Goins, Jr., Carroll College
Blake Greenup, Jr., Lewis-Clark State
Carrigan Jones, Jr., MSU-Northern

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Joyce, Johnston and MacDonald
Universal Athletics

Archived Radio Broadcasts

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email